Bumblebee Girl on Mission Possible

Yesterday I got a good lesson from my body – called listen to yourself.

I started this road trip to honour my parents and to get to know my father better but it seems like this also becomes the road trip where I get to know me better 😉

When I’ve a goal I usually follow it up and work hard but this is not about the goal, it’s about the trip and enjoying myself. I must admit that is a new thing for me in this way so I’m learning valuable lessons.

On my first day I drove the whole day and I was tired when I arrived but that was planned. Therefore the second day I went to Niagara Falls and just took it easy (it’s about 30 minutes from Buffalo where I stayed). Then my plan was to go to Oklahoma city in long “6 hours ride a day” stretches on the interstate because after that my fathers trip really takes off.

Yesterday I just realised that since my cold allergy is of I’ve to take care of myself (the plane ride was freezing and New York wasn’t better). My father took this trip in his way and on his circumstances and I’m not him. I just wanted to make this trip precisely as his but this morning in the bath I began to think what my parents would have wanted … They both would have wanted me to have a trip I enjoy and where I do what is right for me and take care of myself and my needs. Therefore today I’ll go and take highway 40 instead of the interstate and take a “slower” ride on my terms. Even though I made stops on every rest area yesterday driving on the interstate is tiring. That’s why I’m start my own adventure today instead of hunting a shadow – I’ll duplicate my fathers trip and make it my own.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

